Tech Support

English Grammar & Comp 8

Grade Eight English is designed to teach students to speak and write correctly and effectively in the English language. Students should progress, at this level, to an understanding of English grammar that should suffice for a lifetime of general usage with some amount of study of more complex construction. The class will also emphasize, secondarily, training in the social graces, which are necessary for successful communication.

Course Description

The grammar portion of this course concentrates on Part Two of the Voyages book. Students will diagram sentences and develop their composition skills using the Sadlier Writing Workshop series.  This book will aid the student in developing composition skills including developing thoughts in a logical manner, both for speaking and writing; writing narrative, informative, descriptive, and persuasive paragraphs and essays; test taking; and writing for different purposes, such as a newspaper, letters, research reports, and analyzing literature. 

Course Expectations

Students should expect to have daily reading, at least one (or more) weekly written assignments, required participation, and exams as assigned by their instructor. All requirements are assigned and graded by the instructor.

Course Texts
  • Lepanto Grammar 8, Student Text
  • Writing Workshop Level C, Student Workbook

order-books-button.png

Course Details:

Section Number

WCE-08ENG-1

WCE-08ENG-2

Instructor

Mrs. Hall

Mrs. Novak

Grades (Typical)

7-8 (8th)

Live Class Meets

2x per week

1 hr., 5 min. each time

Days

Monday & Wednesday Tuesday & Thursday

Class Period

0 3

Time

6:00 - 7:05 AM (Pacific)

9:00 - 10:05 AM (Eastern)

10:30 - 11:35 AM(Pacific)

1:30 - 2:35 PM (Eastern)

Tuition

$649

Companion Courses

Literature 8

Religion & Bible History 8

History 8