Online 6-12 and K-5: UPDATES - Kolbe Academy

Online 6-12 and K-5: UPDATES

Dear Kolbe Family,

We know many of you are new to Kolbe and some are transitioning once again to an at-home learning environment. Whether you are excited about this or nervous, please know that the teachers and staff at Kolbe are working very hard to ensure a smooth start to the school year and a thriving educational environment for your student! Please also remember, technology for many is a learning curve. It will get easier!

As we receive your calls, emails and livechats, we’ve included some updates below along with clarifications on what seems to be causing some confusion. We have a Help Center on our website which can help you navigate the technology as well.
We encourage you to use it!

Keep reading for more updates and information. Welcome again to the 2020-21 school year and God bless!

 

STUDENT ACCOUNT LOGINS
Schoology, MyKolbe email and Adobe Connect

Most Welcome Emails with account logins for Microsoft 365 (MyKolbe email), Schoology and Adobe Connect have been sent out. If you completed any student enrollments recently, please allow at least a week for this information to be sent to you.

Returning students: Account passwords were reset during the scheduled maintenance. You should have also received Welcome Emails with new account login information.

 

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PARENT PORTAL AND SCHOOLOGY?

The primary accounts you will be working with are the Parent Portal and Student Schoology accounts. Below are a few of the key differences between the accounts:

Some parents received Parent Schoology logins. However, please do not worry about this account until after the school year starts. For K-5 Online, these accounts are not necessary as you will continue to check you child’s account throughout the year.

For additional assistance navigating these platforms, please visit our Help Center. You can take a look specifically at our Schoology article and Parent Portal help guides.

VISIT THE HELP CENTER

 

DAILY SCHEDULES & TEACHER WELCOME EMAILS

Daily Schedules (Online Elementary):
By August 17th (end of day), you will see the daily schedule for your elementary student in your Parent Portal.

Teacher Welcome Emails (ALL Online Students):
On August 17th, teachers will send out welcome emails to student MyKolbe emails, copying the parent email on file.

 

PARENT ORIENTATION (LIVE WEBINARS)

Online K-5 Parent Orientations Sessions (Choose 1)

  • Wednesday, August 19th at 11:00 AM EST, 8:00 AM PST
  • Friday, August 29th at 12:00 PM EST, 9:00 AM PST

Online 6-12 Parent Orientations Sessions (Choose 1)

  • Wednesday, August 19th at 12:00 PM EST, 9:00 AM PST
  • Friday, August 29th at 1:00 PM EST, 10:00 AM PST

Simply click the link below at one of the orientation start times above, and enter as a guest.

Recordings will be made available if you are unable to attend live.

Please check Schoology for a link to attend Parent Orientation

 

STUDENT ORIENTATION
Student Schoology Account

Student orientation is open! We encountered a few issues getting some students added to the orientation courses. If you aren’t seeing an orientation under COURSES in your child’s Schoology account, please submit a tech support ticket by emailing techsupport@kolbe.org. Orientation is done at the student’s own pace and can be completed independently by grades 6-12 students. Online Elementary orientation is meant to be done together with your child.

Live Online Students: Be sure to visit our Tech Check room to make sure your audio and webcam work! 

 

IMPORTANT BOOKSTORE UPDATE!

We have been working very hard in the bookstore to ship books out on time. Nevertheless for some families, books may not arrive by the time school starts. No need to worry though! Teachers will provide digital copies of book materials for the first few weeks of school.

If you have not placed orders yet, please do so as soon as possible in order to secure your place in line. Please allow 2-5 business days for processing bookstore orders.

 

LIVECHAT TECH SUPPORT

If you experience any technical difficulties, please visit LiveChat Tech Support on our website by selecting “Chat with us now!” We are available in LiveChat from 8:30 AM – 4:30 PM Eastern, Monday through Thursday and on Fridays in August and early September.

If we are not available in LiveChat, you may submit a tech support ticket by clicking, “Leave us a Message” or by emailing techsupport@kolbe.org.

LIVECHAT SUPPORT

 

PLEASE NOTE: We are experiencing a higher than normal volume of customer calls and chats at this time. We appreciate your patience as we work hard to ensure a smooth start to the academic year!

Top